2000 Guineas - Top Jockeys

We take a look at some of the jockeys, both past and present who have enjoyed great success in the 2000 Guineas.

Past Jockeys

Lester Piggott

Lester PiggottLester Piggott won the 2000 Guineas five times, remarkably over a 37 year period. He first won on Crepello in 1957 but had to wait 11 years until his next victory when he won on the great Sir Ivor, who went on to win the Epsom Derby a few weeks later. Piggott’s next success came just two years later in 1970 on the Vincent O'Brien trained Nijinsky, who was to go on and win the colts triple crown, the 2000 Guineas, the Epsom Derby and the St Leger. Nijinsky also won the Irish Derby and the King George in that incredible year of 1970.

Willy Carson

A four time winner of the 2000 Guineas, Carson secured his first victory in 1972 on High Top. He followed that up with a win in 1980 on Known Fact and then in 1987 he surprised many by winning on Don't Forget Me for the Richard Hannon yard. His final victory came in 1989 on the great Nashwan who also went to win the Epsom Derby, the Eclipse Stakes and the King George.

Pat Eddery

Pat Eddery enjoyed three wins in the 2000 Guineas, starting with Lomond for Vincent O'Brien in 1983, the same partnership were to successfully combine again the following year, with El Gran Senor who went on to claim the Irish Derby a few weeks later. His final victory came in 1993 when he won on Zafonic for French trainer, Andre Fabre.

Present Jockeys

Kieran Fallon

Kieran FallonIt would be wrong not to mention Kieran Fallon who due to difficulties missed last year's race, he is back in 2010 and will be riding one of the leading fancys no doubt. However, Fallon has won this race four times. His first victory came in 2000 on the Sir Michael Stoute trained Kings Best and the two combined again the following year with Golan. Fallon then enjoyed two success's for Aiden O'Brien on Footstepsinthesand and George Washington in 2005 and 2006.

Johnny Murtagh

Johnny Murtagh who is now installed as number one jockey at the Aiden O’Brien Ballydoyle stable in Ireland, has ridden the winner of the 2000 Guineas twice so far, including 2008 winner, Henrythenavigator. He also won on Rock Of Gibraltar in 2002 and will be riding St Nicholas Abbey for the O’Brien stable this year who goes off as the warm favourite to win.

Frankie Dettori

The Italian jockey is probably the best known jockey riding today nand has won the 2000 Guineas on two occasions so far.Both wins have come for his Goldolphin stable and for trainer, Saeed Bin Suroor. His first came in 1996 on Mark Of Esteem and his second in 1999 on Island Sands. Frankie will riding Al Zir this year for Godolphin, a horse that has come in for considerable support ahead of the race and could go well.