Past Winners

2000 Guineas Past Winners

The 2000 Guineas is the oldest of the five Classic races and was first run in 1809. See 2000 Guineas History. The race has produced many wonderful horses and its roll of honour pays testimony to this. We list below the last ten winners of the race, many of whom have gone on to even richer pickings with perhaps the most famous of them all being Sea The Stars who swept all before him in 2009.

When looking through the list of winners of the race over the past decade there are a number of trends that are well worth taking note of if you are a punter. The most obvious of these trends is that there has only been one favourite winner of the 2000 Guineas since 1999, that was of course the exellent George Washington who won at 6/4 in 2006.  Aidan O'Brien has won the race three times over the past decade so is always a trainer worth following, he manages to get his runners ready at just the right time which is a good omen for Roderic O'Connor this season.

2000 Guineas Winners Since 1999

2014Night Of Thunder40/1K FallonR Hannon
2013Dawn Approach11/8 FavK ManningJ Bolger
2012Camelot15/8 FavJ O'BrienA O'Brien
2011Frankel1/2 FavT QueallySir H Cecil
2010Makfi33/1C LemaireM Delzangles
2009Sea The Stars8/1M KinaneJ Oxx
2008Henrythenavigator11/1J MurtaghAP O'Brien
2007Cockney Rebel25/1O PeslierGA Huffer
2006George Washington6/4 FK FallonAP O'Brien
2005Footstepinthesand13/2K FallonAP O'Brien
2004Haafhd11/2R HillsB Hills
2003Refuse To Bend9/2P SmullenDK Weld
2002Rock Of Gibraltar9/1J MurtaghAP O'Brien
2001Golan11/1K FallonSir M Stoute
2000Kings Best13/2K FallonSir M Stoute
1999Island Sands10/1L DettoriS Suroor